The Boy.

This boy turned 4 this month!!!!  And boy has it been a month to remember.

2014-05-07 08.00.21

The morning of his birthday, he woke up to streamers hanging from his door and 74 balloons in the hallway that his daddy and I blew up the night before. He woke us up exclaiming, “daddy! There’s a bunch of bawoons in the hallway by my room!!”  Then we totally had birthday cake for breakfast.

2014-05-06 23.22.12-1

Later, we went to the park and he played with his friend, Tristan that morning.

2014-05-07 11.19.37

The next Saturday, we had his very first birthday party with friends. I’d say it was a smashing success.

2014-05-10 14.19.13   2014-05-10 14.52.49

These kids had a ton of fun in the backyard. Especially on the new trampoline that MiMi and Papps gave him.

2014-05-10 15.02.04  2014-05-10 15.02.11

Here he is in the Firefighter costume Grandma gave him.  He put it on, grabbed his axe and said, “mommy, I’m gonna go cut down a building. I’ll be right back.” Okay, bud.

2014-05-12 14.56.35-2

Then a week after his birthday, I posted this picture to Instagram and shared it on Facebook. My caption was something like, “This may not end well.” These two turkeys love playing together and horsing around. They’re a mess. 🙂  Little did I know that was a foreshadow of the day to come.

2014-05-14 12.13.31

Because just a few hours later, this happened.

Yeah, that’s gross. But he broke his arm when he fell off the trampoline. And I felt like the worst mom ever. But I managed to keep it together enough to get him and his sister loaded in the car, grab them both some clothes and shoes, and get to the hospital where daddy was working and waiting for us in the ER.  It was only a tad bit stressful.

2014-05-14 17.34.51-2

But he’s a total champ.


2014-05-14 17.46.51

Two bones. Broken.

While we waited, daddy made a purple minion (from Despicable Me 2) out of the hospital glove and put it on his foot. At least it kind of lightened the mood.

2014-05-14 19.04.24

But just a few days later, he got this super cool green cast.

2014-05-16 11.04.05-1

Then, six days after he got his cast, he smashed his finger on his opposite arm, in the car door when he got out to go to the last day of school.  He was really hurting and had a hard time settling down for all the fun activities planned that day, so we left sister there and he ran a quick errand with me to the eye doctor.

2014-05-22 10.06.46

We made it back in time for him to have a little bit of fun with his class and to have a picnic on the lawn with his friends. Here we are with his teachers.

2014-05-22 12.02.12

That night at bedtime. Poor thing…Smashed finger. Broken arm. What a week!

2014-05-22 19.29.26-2

Don’t worry, though. All these injuries haven’t really slowed him down. He’s back up and running around and around and around and chasing his sister and making us all exhausted with his endless energy. Maybe he’s in training for a football career. 🙂

Either way, I love this boy of mine.

2014-05-21 16.13.48-1

Dear Bubby,

You bring so much joy into this life of ours. You’re stubborn and silly. You take risks and get dirty and love splashing in the bathtub. You love to give “big squeeze hugs” and I don’t think you’ve ever met a stranger. You talk to everyone you see. And when you don’t, I figure I better keep my guard up, too, because your little spirit must know something I don’t. You light up a room with your smile and the most beautiful blue eyes. You make friends so easily. Kids love you and adults adore you. You are smart as a whip. You talk CONSTANTLY. I’m serious. I hear you talking as you walk down the hall before you ever make it to my bedside in the morning. You talk from the moment you wake up to the moment you go to sleep. You love to sing and are now singing along to all the songs on the radio. It surprises me how many you know when we’re in the car. But I love to hear you sing about Jesus. I hope those words you’re singing now, sink in and become hardcore truths to you in the future. You give random kisses and “I love you’s” all day long. And you tell everyone you meet about your “new” shoes, even though you’ve had them long enough to get them super dirty and super stinky.  You really are a pretty cool kid and you have such a big heart. I can’t wait to see how God molds that heart as you grow up into a man. I love you, son, with all my heart. Don’t ever forget that. Ever.

Love you forever,

mommy

This entry was posted in Eli, Family, life, Love, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

