Potty Training…or something?

Okay, so I thought about making this a Facebook status update. But then I thought it’s just too momentous, it really deserves a blog post.

Because Aubin is doing something very strange, y’all. I think she’s potty training herself…Or something. If that’s even possible. I mean, she’s not even two yet.

Let me explain.

For a few months now, I’ve been saying this girl could probably potty train. She’s been telling me for a long time when she has pee or poop in her diaper. And she’s usually right. Lately, she’s been taking naps without any wet diapers, and within just the last few weeks, she’s started taking her diaper off, which on the surface is super annoying, and I figured it was just a phase. But maybe on a deeper level she just wants out of the dirty thing. She usually takes them off when they’re wet or dirty. Which is super gross, but whatever. It’s what mommies deal with.

So this morning, while I was getting her dressed to go to the gym, she took her jeans off and said she had to go to the bathroom. No kidding. She said she had to poop. And I was like, um, okay. So we did the sitting on the potty thing and while she clearly tried, nothing happened. So after fighting with her to get a diaper on, we went to the gym.

Fast forward to lunch. When we got back from the gym and were at the table eating lunch, she suddenly got down from her chair and said she had to poop on the potty and started taking her jeans off again. So I helped her get her diaper off and she ran to the bathroom. By the time I finished my bite of food and made it to the bathroom behind her, she had already climbed onto the toilet and peed. Next thing I know, she’s doing her business.

There was poop in the toilet people.

Then she said she was done and after I wiped her, she flushed the toilet and we washed her hands. Then we repeated this little exercise about ten more times over the next twenty minutes until she finished pooping. Which would have been funny if it wasn’t so annoying.

But seriously. I’ve never seen anything quite like it. It took so much effort with her brother that even though she has shown the signs that she wanted to toilet train, I’ve just ignored it because I really didn’t think she was ready. Heck, I wasn’t ready. It’s a heck of a lot of work and I just haven’t wanted to deal with it. Diapers are easy. Dirty panties and messy, wet floors are not.

But now I’m thinking I just need to go with it. Especially since she basically fights me when I put a diaper on her anymore anyway. So when she gets up from her nap today, I think I’ll put panties on her.

So, yeah, maybe we’re potty training now.

Or something.

WebSig3

This entry was posted in Aubin, Holy Cow!, life, Motherhood and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

