Worship on the Treadmill

Now that preschool is out for the summer, I finally got back to the gym. Today was my first time back there in a looooonnngg time. I could write up a laundry list of reasons why I haven’t been, but really, they’re just excuses. And who wants to read my excuses?

Anyway, so there I am on the treadmill. Just walking along, working up a moderate sweat and about 17 minutes left on my 30 minute walk, the urge to pee is strong enough that I decide it might be prudent to actually stop the machine and find the toilet before I, you know, have an accident.

Until that point, I had been listening to an old Brad Paisley album. It was good and fun and upbeat and kept me going. But when I returned from my little pit stop, I decided to find something else.

That’s when I saw it. I didn’t even know it was on my phone. So I hit play. And then something crazy happened. On the treadmill. With people around.

I worshiped.

The moment the words started, I closed my eyes and imagined myself singing to Jesus.

Do you ever do that when you worship? That’s how I do it. I imagine myself in various situations, usually really close to Him. Like I’m sitting on his lap. Or dancing before the throne. Either way, it’s always an experience I can’t fully describe. It’s supernatural. It’s completely spiritual. It’s absolutely authentic. It’s how I worship. It’s a place I love to be: completely and utterly lost in His presence.

Sadly, I probably don’t go there enough.

But not today. I went there today.  On the treadmill.

And I bet I looked like a fool. I just kept playing that song over and over and over again. I was mouthing the words. (Soooo hard not to belt it out!) And closing my eyes and occasionally lifting one hand. (Alright, maybe both hands, at times. But I kept walking, so I had to keep some sense about me.) I even had tears at some point. (Or the whole time. Because how can you not cry from gratefulness in the presence of the King?)

As the lyrics played and the music swelled to a crescendo I just praised Him. I praised Him for His goodness. I thanked Him for my body. For my health. For the fact that I am physically fit enough to walk on a treadmill. To pick up and carry my children. To lift my hands in praise.

I praised Him for what He’s done for us. For the sacrifice He made for us on the cross. For the grace He bestowed upon us through His blood. For the eternal life He’s promised us through His resurrection.

And I kept walking. And praising. And crying. And lip-syncing.

Because He loves little old me in His big old infinite universe.

Little old me.

And every single day, He makes me new.

He makes me beautiful.

He makes me like Him.

Thank you, Jesus, for your incredible, matchless, infinite love. For making me a new creation. For loving me. And for the honor of worshiping you. Even in the gym. I love you.

Now it’s your turn. Volume and hands up!

Beautiful Things, by Gungor

All this pain
I wonder if I’ll ever find my way
I wonder if my life could really change at all
All this earth
Could all that is lost ever be found
Could a garden come up from this ground at all

You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of the dust
You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of us

All around
Hope is springing up from this old ground
Out of chaos life is being found in You

You make me new, You are making me new
You make me new, You are making me new

You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of the dust
You make beautiful things
You make beautiful things out of us

WebSig3

This entry was posted in Faith, God, Gratitude, Singing, Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

