Sammich.

So, I’ve had a few requests for recipes. Like, what is my favorite thing to make? And while there are several, mostly, I use cookbooks. And while I would be happy to reprint them for you here, I’m honestly too lazy to email and request permission. I’m not gonna get sued for copyright infringement. So I’ve decided this is the next best thing.

Back when we first started this shindig, I knew I needed help from the experts, so I ordered a few cookbooks from Amazon.  So in addition to trolling the internet for good recipes, here’s my current arsenal:

20130405-151509.jpg

I’d say of these books, the one that has the hands down best recipes, is Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease. I think of all the recipes I’ve made from that book, only one has been a dud. But we love the Cauliflower Potato Curry, the Black Bean Oatmeal Burgers, the Whole Grain Pasta with Greens and Beans, and the Chocolate Mousse, to name a few faves.

There are several from the Forks Over Knives cookbook that we love, but many of those require ingredients that are either expensive or I would have to drive up to Houston to get.  A couple of faves from there are Peanut Noodles with Broccoli and Noodles with Red Lentil Curry Sauce that I serve over brown rice usually.

The Happy Herbivore is a lawyer turned blogger turned cookbook author, so she has published tons of recipes online. What I like about her recipes, is they are fairly simple and don’t use many crazy ingredients that I could only get at Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s. Which is good, since those stores are both an hour away in H-town. I like her recipes pretty much, but I’ve learned I have to modify them some to fit my tastes. The other books I pretty much cook the recipe as written.

One in particular that she has is Mock “Tuna” Salad using chickpeas instead of tuna. I make that all the time. Like, a lot. Remember when I said I wasn’t a fan of sandwiches? Yeah, well, I could eat this stuff everyday. But, I must confess, I’ve never actually made her recipe verbatim. I started to one day, and then just decided I would make it like I was making my own tuna salad. Then it would have the flavors I like. That would actually remind me of tuna salad.

Then there’s my friend Jenny. She likes to call herself veganish. She’s the one who actually told me about the Forks Over Knives documentary to begin with. Sometimes when she thinks about it, she’ll send me recipes she’s come across. A couple that I make quite often are this Vegetarian Quinoa Chili and Smashed Chickpea Salad. Even my omni family loved the chili. We make that anytime we are going to have meat lovers in the house. It’s hearty and delicious. If you look at the  smashed chickpea salad recipe, you’ll see it calls for using a lot of olive oil. I use about 1 tablespoon max. Just enough to get it wet and give it some flavor. But we try to keep the added fat to a minimum around here.

By the way, I eat a lot of chickpeas. I’ve got a big ole pot on the stove right now, in fact. I basically cook most of my own beans if I can find them dry. I don’t even soak them overnight anymore. That’s too much hassle. I basically just cook them in unseasoned water, then parse them out into 1-2 can serving sizes in freezer bags and throw them in the freezer. (One can equals about 1 1/2 to 2 cups cooked beans.) Then I can use them whenever I want. I do this mainly with chickpeas, pintos and black beans. But I’ve also done black eyed peas, cannellini and navy beans as well. It’s just nice to know they aren’t loaded with sodium. And honestly, they taste so much better. Plus it’s waaayyyy cheaper.

So now, without further ado, my own version of a mock tuna and/or chicken salad, depending on the ingredients. And my (very sad) attempt at imitating a food blogger. Using pictures from my iPhone. So here goes. My go-to quick lunch packed with protein and yumminess. Warning: I don’t measure much. I pretty much just throw it together at this point.

1. First, I pull the chickpeas out of the freezer and break them up on the counter. I pull out about 2 cups (or the equivalent of a can), and then nuke them for a minute to defrost the little suckers. (If you are using canned, I would rinse and drain them first.)

20130408-132640.jpg

2. Smash those bad boys with a potato masher.

20130408-132713.jpg

3. Gather your ingredients. Maybe do some chopping.

20130408-132705.jpg

4. Throw it all in a bowl. Add about one to two tablespoons of mayo and then I just kinda guestimate the other ingredients and adjust by taste. I added walnuts and black pepper (both not pictured above, but pictured below). Sometimes I’ll add apples, too. Mmmmmm.

20130408-132722.jpg

5. Mix it all together. Add lemon juice and maybe more mayo if you like it wetter. More wet?

20130408-132729.jpg

6. Taste test.

20130408-132757.jpg

7. Assemble the sandwich. Top with some yummy leafy greens. It’s also good just plain or with celery.

20130408-132807.jpg

20130408-132815.jpg

That one was for hubs who is out mowing today. It’ll hold him until he finishes. I put mine on toast. Mmmmmmm good!!

Thanks for bearing with me.

Happy eating!

WebSig3

This entry was posted in Chocolate, Favorites, Food, Health, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sammich.

  1. lindseymichelle says:

    I tried it – it was delicious! Gonna have to keep me some on hand… since I hate lunch meat, and can’t make egg salad ever since I was pregnant with P!

  2. Myra McCollum says:

    Thanks, Jen! I have Forks Over Knives Cookbook too. I don’t mind planning and prepping, but recipes there are kind of daunting.

Leave a Reply

