The Post Where I Explain Why (well, sort of.)

Six months ago my husband saw the doctor. It was a regular check-up. The doc schedules them every six months to manage his medications and what not.

Six months ago, our doctor gave my husband quite a speech about his health. And my husband heard him. Loud and clear.

I’m not exactly sure what he said, but I’m pretty sure it was something along the lines of, “you have to do something now or you are going to die.”  Yeah, I know. So he came home with a new determination to get healthy. He had a fire in his belly to change like I’ve never seen before.

So we did.

After losing weight during the week of the 7 fast, we determined to eat cleaner, less processed foods. But we still gained some of the weight back that was lost during the fast. And honestly, I felt like we took some steps backwards. Resorting to old habits and food.  I felt stuck. Like, what do we do now?

In October, we watched the documentary Forks Over Knives on Netflix, and it completely rocked our world. We decided before the movie was even finished, to completely change how we look at food and our health and went all in with a low fat, whole foods, plant based diet.

That meant minimal processed foods, minimal added fats, and no animal products of any kind.

I would come to describe it as “vegan on steroids”. Because it was vegan, but with a much healthier approach. Because trust me, there’s plenty of junk food that qualifies as vegan. (Yeah, I’m talking to you, Oreo’s and tortilla chips.)

The goal was to do more than just lose weight. But to change our health, and our lives, for the better. For good.

And to get my husband off medication for high blood pressure, cholesterol and diabetes. Because those are all curable diseases. And the cure is so simple it’s crazy. Are you ready to have your mind B. L. O. W. N.?

Eat plants. Move more.

What? That’s it? That’s crazy! I could never do that. I love cheese. I love yogurt. I have to have meat. What’s life without bacon? That’s not living! 

Au contraire, mon ami. It’s not crazy at all. And it most certainly is living. Living and feeling better than I ever did after eating a Whataburger with cheese and grilled onions.

So that’s what we did.

And after five months of not eating a single animal product, I can honestly say that I don’t really miss it. What I do miss is the convenience. I can’t just run through Chick-Fil-A and grab me a #1 with a DDP and polynesian sauce when the moment strikes. Nope, now I have to plan ahead a little. And maybe chop a few veggies.  But, hey, you know what, here’s a thought…running through CFA and grabbing me a #1 with a DDP and polynesian sauce is what got us in that mess in the first place, now isn’t it? Think about that.

So anyway, on with the real reason I sat down to write tonight.

I’m so incredibly proud to say that yesterday, my husband shocked his doctor’s face off. He went in almost fifty pounds lighter (seventy since August), and his blood work was so good that the doc took him off all his medications!!!

Good riddance, blood pressure medicine.

Sayonara, statin.

Arrivederci, metformin.

Don’t let the door hit ya where the good Lord split ya!

So to all those naysayers out there who say we have gone plain ape crazy in this house, I just have one thing to say:

PLANTS!! FOR THE WIN!

I can honestly say, we no longer Live to Eat.

Nope, now we Eat to Live.

And that’s saying something right there.

p.s. In case you’re trying to tally that up, that’s a total combined weight loss of about 120 pounds between us since August. 100 since going plant strong. Now go…chew on that.

p.p.s His blood pressure was something ridiculous like 115/74, his blood sugar was 96 and his total cholesterol was around 160. Can I get an Amen?

WebSig3

This entry was posted in Food, Health, life, Marcus and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Post Where I Explain Why (well, sort of.)

  1. Yay! I love hearing success stories. I’m currently trying to go plant based. I’m vegetarian fully since Jan 1 this year, but have been pursuing this type of eating since Easter last year. I’ve just had trouble getting off the dairy and eggs when eating out, otherwise I’m completely plant-based and it feels fantastic!

    • finneyfer says:

      Yeah, finding things to eat when you’re out can be so difficult. I have to make concessions sometimes but I try to be as good as possible. Like, we all know that refried beans and tortillas probably contain lard and were cooked with meat, but I’m not gonna eat a beef fajita while I’m at it. It’s the little things. As long as I stick as close as possible at home, then I feel good.

      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment.

  2. lindseymichelle says:

    Ahhhh!! That’s sooo awesome!!! So excited and proud for y’all!

  3. januaryrowe says:

    a) Rockin awesome. I mean… rockin. flipping. awesome. Impressed. Inspired. Incouraged. (I know, but I wanted to stick with the words all starting the with the letter “i”)
    b) Okay, so I’m working on tightening up my habits around here… looking for some guidance. I got Forks Over Spoons in the queue first of all, but questions for you: 1) Do you guys eat grains (rice? pasta? breads?). 2) What are your fav meals? (Since you know that I put cheese in, like, ev.er.y.thing. and a lot of the vegan recipes I have found call for “vegan replacement products” which I can neither afford nor do I really like them, e.g. “vegan cheese”).

    • finneyfer says:

      Forks Over Spoons – that made me giggle. 🙂

      Man, things have been busy around here. Sorry it’s taken me so long to get back to you. But here’s the answers to your questions: 1) Yes. We eat grains of all types. And even bread, but I check to make sure it’s egg and milk free. You’d be surprised. 2) There are so many. They would involve a whole post in and of itself. That may be coming. Maybe. 3) I know you didn’t separate out the cheese question into a number 3, but I think it really deserves it’s own bullet point. Cheese is a sticky subject. You just have to be willing to go without for a while. At least in my personal experience. I haven’t enjoyed anything with a cheese replacement very much, be it store bought or homemade. Some things, you just have to be willing to let go. I’m not a huge fan of tofu scramble, for instance. People make it for scrambled eggs. It’s just not something I enjoy. If I’m going to take the trouble to eat this way, I want to enjoy my food. I still try stuff, though, because you never know if it will satisfy. So mainly what I’ve done is come to just let it go. Cheese. Meat. Eggs. = Let. Them. Go. The replacements are still processed anyway. And that’s kind of the point of eating whole foods. You skip the processed cheezes and meats. Although, I do indulge in the Earth Balance buttery spread. It’s yummy. And I like the replacement mayonnaise occasionally. In fact, I’ve probably been eating it too much lately. And I admit to enjoying the Tofurkey brand Italian flavored sausages. I make those as sausage and peppers. It’s not something I have often though, because it’s super yummy and higher fat and calories than I like. Plus again, it’s processed. And that’s what I mainly try to avoid.

      Hope that answers your question. Probably not the answers you really wanted though. Sorry. 🙂

  4. januaryrowe says:

    Oh, and c) Your “voice” cracks me up (ie “Plants!! For the Win!”)… maybe I’ll actually get to meet you some day! Haha!

  5. Your story is so much like mine that it’s scary! My husband and I have been plant-based for a year now (we started because of my husband’s health issues too). It’s really changed our lives, and we don’t miss eating meat either. Congratulations your success – you and your husband rock!

Leave a Reply

