Spring Break Fever!

This past week was Spring Break and I had two major goals:

.       1. Potty train the boy.

.       2. Go to the gym every day.

But then, after coughing for a few days, Sunday night Eli starts shivering and curls up next to me and says, “I’m cold, mommy.”   But he’s burning up.

Like, 104.5, burning up.

Yeah, I know, it scared me, too.  He went to bed without supper. Because that’s what he wanted to do. Just crawl in bed. And it’s a good thing my husband was home cuz I kinda freaked out a little. I contemplated taking him to the hospital, but decided to let the Motrin do it’s thing and see if the fever came down. Which it did, thankfully.

So the next day, I skipped the gym (can’t take a kid with a cough and fever there) and we went to the pediatrician while a neighbor watched Aubin for me so I wouldn’t have to take her to germville. Turns out his throat was all red and his tonsils were swollen. Poor baby. We were sent on our way with a script and instructions to manage the fever with Tylenol/Motrin. Of course, the fever was pretty much gone as of Monday night and never returned.

So Tuesday comes and I’m thinking I should still probably skip the gym, considering he still technically had a fever less than 24 hours ago. And that’s the rule, right? Wait to take your kid somewhere until they are fever free for 24 hours. So that’s what we did.

But I still put him in undies. I mean, I figured, we were obviously not going anywhere, so I might as well, right?

Then Sister started coughing. And by Wednesday night, she woke up screaming. And burning up.

Like, 104.1, burning up.

YEAH, I KNOW!

Only this time Marcus was on a 48-hour shift so I had to keep my head about me. Thankfully Eli got better so quickly that I didn’t panic. Just changed her clothes and gave her some medicine to bring the fever down and went back to the pedi’s office that morning. Not her ears, just upper respiratory junk. Another script. Manage the fever, yada yada yada. On our merry way. (Although her cough has progressed to wheezing and it sounds awful. She definitely got the short end of the stick on this one.)

But even though we were stuck at home most of the time this week, we managed to have fun playing outside in the beautiful spring weather. We all got sunburns for being outside too long one day. (Well, all but Aubin, that is. That girl has gorgeous skin. She just got brown. She even has tan lines. I’m jealous.) So the week wasn’t a total disaster.

Now I have to brag on my boy. He went to church in undies today, y’all. And he didn’t have a single accident! YAY!!! When they got to church, Marcus took him to the potty and then when he went to pick him up, he was in the restroom. So score one big one for Eli!

So as for my Spring Break To Do list;  I think we might have gotten number one taken care of (fingers crossed), but number two was clearly a pipe dream. Best laid plans and all that. Good thing I’ve got my 30 Day Shred workouts for the house or I’d feel like a big old slug by now.

I leave you with some pictures of the memories captured on my phone:

20130317-152311.jpg

20130317-152324.jpg

20130317-152246.jpg

20130317-152238.jpg

20130317-152341.jpg

Happy Spring, y’all!

WebSig3

This entry was posted in Aubin, Eli, Family, life, Marcus, Motherhood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.