And We’re Off!

Okay, so I did it. I bit the bullet and made a decision.

11 foods.
7 sides/drinks.
7 days.

So I decided to cut myself some slack. This is an experiment, after all. So I chose to use Jen’s seven foods, plus four. The following is on the menu this week:

  • Chicken
  • Spinach
  • Sweet potato
  • Apples
  • Avocado
  • Eggs
  • Bread

I added to that list:

  • Grapes
  • Bananas
  • Oats
  • Yogurt

While Jen only allowed herself to use olive oil and salt and pepper, I’ve allowed the following:

  • Olive oil
  • Salt & pepper
  • Curry powder
  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Honey

And most importantly, to drink:

  • Water
  • Coffee with cream (2 cups max)

The best part about this whole thing is, I’m not alone. My husband has joined the insanity experiment and is doing it with me.  That’s right, ladies. I’ve got a good one. You can be jealous. It’s okay.

So there you go.

Day one was yesterday and went surprisingly well. I have to say, I was hungry most of the day. That’s the part I absolutely hate about starting any kind of “diet.” The hunger from the whole eating less thing. That’s probably why I rarely diet. It’s the getting started that’s so difficult.  Needless to say, I prayed a lot. Ate more apples than I ever have. Ever. And drank a lot of water.

I may have cried during my first prayer yesterday when I thanked God for the bounty before me and thought of the 925 million who only dream of that kind of provision for their empty bellies.

I may also have told my son about 500 times that he could NOT have another peanut butter and jelly sandwich after he just finished one. Seriously. The kid is only 2. He doesn’t need one sandwich for each year of age. Can you imagine? I might have also told him that there are millions of people in this world who would love to have just one sandwich at all and that one was enough for lunch. I’m sure he didn’t understand. But I told him anyway.

We also might have purged a few items from the pantry and the fridge. Don’t worry, most of it I gave to a friend. But it was the kind of stuff we don’t need in this house anyway. Like 4 opened bags of croutons. For real.  And one of the boxes of grits. Hooray!

I went to bed with a headache that I suppose was from my decidedly smaller caffeine consumption. I woke up with it and even though I had my two cups today, I still have it. Maybe it’s not a caffeine headache after all. But the Keurig is beckoning me to fire it up for my normal afternoon cup of Joe. So I’m sure that’s what it is. Talk about addiction.

My morning devotion was perfect. I honestly could not have planned it any better had I done it myself.

Now the rabble that was among them had a strong craving. And the people of Israel also wept again and said, “Oh that we had meat to eat! We remember the fish we ate in Egypt that cost nothing, the cucumbers, the melons, the leeks, the onions, and the garlic. But now our strength is dried up, and there is nothing at all but this manna to look at.” (Numbers 11:4-6 ESV)

I posted it to my ladies group Facebook page and said, “I’m thankful for today’s manna and for God’s beautiful provision for the day.”

Teach me, Lord, to rely on you.

And please take my headache away.

Amen.

This entry was posted in Faith, Food, Small Groups and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And We’re Off!

  1. Pingback: Fasting Lessons. | love.life.chocolate

Leave a Reply

