Do-Overs

Some days, I get to the end of the day and wish I could have a do-over.

Do you ever feel that way?

Seriously. I wasn’t very nice to my boy yesterday. He’s getting over a double ear infection and was soooo whiiiiiiinnny all day long. And he pretty much refused to take a nap which made it worse. I know I’m supposed to be all comforting and loving and stuff, but instead, I was just super irritated.

And I became just as bratty as he was.

So this morning, as I drank my coffee and nursed my baby girl, I spent some time with Jesus. I asked him to give me a new perspective.

I asked him to help me to see my kids, His kids, as He does. To love them like He does.

And as I prayed, I thought, how does He love my kids? How does He love me?

Then 1 Corinthians 13 came to mind. You all know it. It’s the love chapter that is read at about every wedding you’ve probably ever been to. But as I recalled it, I thought, I better look this up. So I did. In a couple of different versions.

And in this passage that I know so well, I saw God’s love for me fresh and new.

4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. 8 Love never fails. (NIV)

4 Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends. (ESV)

And then I asked for forgiveness. Because I was none of these things yesterday. I was the opposite.

I was impatient and unkind. I was easily angered. I was rude and irritable. Simply put, I was not very nice or loving or gentle at all. And I hate that.

But there’s good news. Because God says his mercies are new every morning. That means that while I don’t get a do-over for yesterday, I get to start fresh with a clean slate today.

So my prayer became one of thanks to God.

For His grace and faithfulness.

For His love and mercy.

And for showing me how to love like He loves.

I pray that I can do that every day. But I’m glad to know that when I fall short, He will be there to catch me, pick me up, dust me off and set me back on my feet.

To try again.

With His help.

On a brand new day.

This entry was posted in Faith, God, life, Love, Motherhood and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

