Catching Up

So my last post was made December 21, 2011. More than a month ago. Before Christmas. New Year’s. And Martin Luther King day.

I feel like such a slacker.

And even though it’s only been a little over a month since my last post, it feels like a LIFETIME.

But, in my defense, I’ve been kinda busy.

Miss Aubin Nicole Finney joined us January 16, 2012 at 8:11 a.m. weighing 7 lbs, 11 oz, 20 1/4″ long. (Is it totally sad that I had to look on Facebook to get those stats?)

Needless to say, life has been sort of a blur since then.

  • I’ve been on double diaper duty changing two booties now. And the first booty is SO MUCH BIGGER than the new, itty bitty baby booty.
  • I’ve been trying to get as much sleep as possible, in effort to ward off the MS demons, with some luck, but not completely. But we’ll save that for another post.
  • One of our mothers has been here since the day after Christmas. Marcus’ mom came for two weeks on 12/26, went home for a week, then came back just in time for the birth (literally, she got here on the 15th while I was timing contractions) and stayed another ten days. God bless that woman. She is a lifesaver. You’ve never met someone with a bigger heart for helping others. And when she had to leave, my mom has been filling in on the nights and days that M has to work so I’m not completely alone. I hope and pray I am healthy enough to do that for my kids one day, too.
  • I’ve worn make up a total of 3 times. Twice for photo sessions and once for church. Most days I’m doing good to get a shower.

Many people have asked me how Eli is doing. I’ll say he’s doing pretty well so far, all things considered. He gives sister lots and lots of kisses. And holds her hand in the car when she cries. Of course, I don’t know how hard he’s holding her hand so he may just be part of the cause of said crying, but his heart is in the right place.

I have to say, the hardest part of all was my own adjustment to adding a new kid to the mix. I was so concerned about preparing Eli for her arrival, that I never thought about me. I don’t know, maybe that’s not something you can prepare for. Maybe that’s just one of those things you have to experience. Anyway, let’s just say it was really tough at first, but I think I’m over the hump.

And I am so in love! My children and my husband make my heart so happy and full. I never, ever could have imagined just how big my love could be for another person. Again, it’s not something that can be explained. It has to be experienced. Let’s just say, there’s nothing like it in the world.

And now, I look forward to a future of smiles and laughter, fits and tantrums, and lots and lots of kisses.

This entry was posted in Aubin, Eli, Family, life, Marcus, Motherhood, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

