Making a list…Checking it twice…Or something like that.

So, before the baby gets here in T-minus 6 weeks, I have a LOT of stuff to do. And the best part is, I get to figure out how and when to do all this while my doctor told me I need to get more rest and put my feet up. For several hours a day. Not full on bed rest, mind you, but rest just the same.

Things like…

Getting Her Room Ready.

I’m not just talking about setting up the crib and putting up some curtains and shelves and call it a day here, either. No. I’m talking, I need a sub-list just to get her room in shape enough to even be considered worthy of being used as a nursery.

The Problem: It’s currently the guest room. With a queen size bed. And enough memorabilia on the walls to cover every last square inch. It’s also become a catch-all. There is a mixture of all sorts of things in there, from totes full of E’s old toys and clothes to all the new stuff I’ve acquired for Aubin. And don’t even get me started on the closet. Let’s just say I could probably have a garage sale with all the stuff stashed in her closet alone and make a killing.

The Solution: It’s quite simple really, just a daunting task that I feel like I don’t have the time or energy for. So here’s what I’d like to get done over the next 6 weeks, give or take a few:

  1. Get the stuff off of the big bed. There’s a lot of stuff on it. Mainly from my baby shower this past weekend. Question is, where do I put it all? Which leads me to number 2…
  2. Find places to put stuff from baby shower.
  3. Get the big bed outta there. My mom has a twin size day bed with trundle that we will trade for the queen bed. That will get us a little more space, still provide a place for guests (mainly our moms) to sleep when they come help after she’s born, and will eventually become Eli’s big boy bed when he’s ready to make that transition.
  4. Clean out her closet. Which will involve a large amount of rearranging junk to fit in other places like the garage, the attic, and the storage building out back. And possibly other closets. Oy.
  5. Remove extraneous totes (see Clothes Swap below), toys and other junk piled on the floor. And find a place to put it. Or sell it.
  6. Get the stuff off the walls. And find a place to put it.
  7. Hang curtains.
  8. Put the crib together.
  9. Paint the dresser.
  10. Wash clothes and sheets to put in the dresser.
  11. Re-fill the closet with things like diapers.
  12. Put decals on the walls.

I am sure I’m forgetting something, but it’ll probably come up as I work at it.

Preparing for Clothes Swap

The Problem: This could be a sub-list item to number 5 above, but I feel it deserves it’s own category. Now this is pretty cool. There is a girl I met at Bunco a year or more ago who has two little girls and she is currently preggers with a boy. She put out a feeler on Facebook to see if anyone would be willing to trade boy clothes for girl clothes (and accessories) and I was like Oh-to-the-Yeah! Count me in.  We are doing the swap on the 12th. Aaaahhh!

The Solution: So one of the projects going on in that room are totes full of E’s old clothes that I’m sorting through to set aside for her and my sister-in-law who just had a baby boy on Thanksgiving. Not to mention, looking for those favorite outfits I want to save. I have a ton of clothes for Eli from 0 to about 18 months. It’s just another big task. That involves sitting on the floor. And making a mess. In an already messy room. Ugh. But the payoff is totally worth it.

Write and Mail Thank You Notes.

Because some very cool people have done some really cool things for me and deserve to be thanked properly.

The Problem: I can’t find the baby book which has the list of gifts given to me at the shower. Also, I didn’t get addresses (except for two) at the shower, so I need to figure those out. Most of them I think I have from E’s shower, but we’ll see.

The Solution:

  1. Find the book.
  2. Get to writing.
  3. Put letters in mail.
  4. The end.

Other Stuff Not Related to the Baby but Needs to be Done Regardless.

Women’s Retreat. I’ve volunteered to work on the promotion team again this year. My main task is designing the logo, brochure, and other related materials. Good news is, I have a great partner who is picking up a lot of my slack with the other things, like keeping the calendar in check, getting promo copy written and submitted to the proper people for announcements, and working with the video people at church to get a promo video done.

For my part, I can at least say that the logo is complete and approved. And the brochure is probably 70%. I need to add some things to get a good rough draft, and then fine-tune that puppy before going to print. I have to have this to the printer by the 15th. I’m just moving like molasses on it this year. I don’t know what is wrong with me.

Small groups. I love my small groups. But I’m ready for a break. We currently host our Monday night small group and then I lead one on Wednesday mornings. Good news is, my friend Lindsey, is leading us through our current study in ladies group. Gooder news is, next week is the last week so no more freaking-out-trying-to-get-the-house-ready-on-Mondays anymore. We have absolutely LOVED hosting small group this year, but once January hits, we’ll probably move it back to our leader’s house. It’s just too much when you’re 100 weeks pregnant, told to take it easy, and once the baby comes fugeddaboudit.

Holiday…what? There’s this little holiday we celebrate this time of year. You may have heard about it. It’s called Christmas. In 18 days. Getting ready for that is also on my list. Good thing is, we don’t really have the money to buy anyone anything, so I don’t have a very long gift list. Bad news is, we don’t really have the money to buy anyone anything so I don’t have the joy of giving to the ones I love. I hope they understand.

I still have more on my mind, more that I could add to the list, but I’m sure I’ve bored everyone to tears who has even bothered to read this ridiculous post. It’s really more for me, anyway. In fact, I’ll probably print it out so I can have a visual of all the crap I have to do. And it’s great, because now I’ve got the dates and stuff down on paper so I can see what order I need to do things in.

Anyway, if you talk to me and I seem a bit overwhelmed, well, now you know why. Sorry for all the rambling.

This entry was posted in Aubin, Complete Randomness, Eli, life, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

