19 Months and Pre-School?

Eli is 19 months old today. Time is sure flying by. He had a check up right after Thanksgiving and he still weighs 30 pounds but has grown to 34.5 inches. That’s an inch and a half since I took him to the doctor for a sick visit at the beginning of October (when he also weighed 30 lbs).  I’d say the kid had a growth spurt.

That puts him squarely in the top 5% for height and weight. Doc says he’ll be tall like his daddy. And probably a left tackle.

First day of school. 12.6.2011

He started pre-school yesterday. Because mommy needs some rest (according to the doctor who wants me to “put my feet up” a few hours each day). So I called around and got him into a half-day program that had one spot available. One. Thank you, Jesus! And since money is super tight, our parents are helping with tuition. So from 9-12 each morning for the next week, he’ll be gone and I’ll be resting in quiet bliss. Then they break for Christmas and he’ll start back in January.

Today was his second day and while yesterday, he held my hand really tight when I dropped him off, today he just waltzed right in, like, I got this mom. His teachers said he did really well. Which, honestly, doesn’t surprise me in the least. The kid is so adaptable.

We also went and got him a booster seat for the table last night. So now, he sits with us at the dinner table like a big boy. No more high chair. And he eats with his fork or spoon and doesn’t make a huge mess. He even puts his dishes in the sink for me! That’s the nice thing about having a tall boy. Sure, it’s annoying when he’s pulling stuff off the counters, like bread and bananas, but it’s coming in handy in the clean-the-table department. And that makes mama happy.

He’s starting to use more sounds, like L’s and K’s. And I swear he’s talking in sentences, it’s just still very much gibberish that can’t be understood. So there’s a lot of nodding and listening on our part. And jabber-jabber-jabber on his.

He says several words crystal clear, though. My favorite is “Wow. Cool.” It’s so funny.

He plays peek-a-boo by covering up his eyes now.

He holds our hands and bows his head to pray with us at dinner.

And he finally recognizes “mama” in pictures, too, not just “dada”.  But only the pictures where I have my glasses on. He has no clue who that woman is in the pretty white dress and veil in the church with dada.

Last week, Marcus’ mom came and stayed with us and was a HUGE help with him and around the house. She stayed in the guest room, which is going to be Aubin’s room. One day after she left, I asked him to take something “to sister’s room” and he just looked at me like, huh? Then Marcus told him the same thing and he continued to look completely confused. Until I said, “take this to MiMi’s room” and he went straight there. Like, Oh, why didn’t you say so!  So for those of you wondering, he has absolutely NO CLUE what’s about to happen in this house. And how it’s going to completely change his world.

We are down to his last couple of paci’s. He is refusing to take a new one. I guess it’s too different. He uses them to go to sleep. But when he loses these, I guess that’s gonna be it. Unless he decides the other ones we bought will do. I’m seriously not going to sweat it. One less thing for me to keep up with.

He sings with me when I put him to bed now. Well, when I say sing, I really mean hum, but you get the idea. And when I sing Twinkle, Twinkle, he sits up and does these hand gestures that he just made up one day. It’s the funniest, cutest thing.

Tonight, I rocked him longer than usual. I sang several Christmas songs and then just held him tight.

And every night, when I put him to bed, after reading 3 stories, singing 3 songs, and saying our prayers, I whisper these two verses over him. I so want them to become woven into the fabric of his very being…

“The Lord your God is with you, Eli. He is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you. He will quiet you with his love. He will rejoice over you with singing.” Zephaniah 3:17

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.” Proverbs 3: 5-6

Now, it’s time I go nite-nite myself.

Sleep tight, y’all!

This entry was posted in Eli, life, Motherhood, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

