I talk to myself.

Yep, that’s right. I talk to myself.

Out loud.

Not always.  But often. Especially when M is at work. And E is in bed. But I do it when they are both here, and awake too.

I just caught myself in the kitchen. And it made me laugh.

Yep. Sometimes I make myself laugh, too.

Out loud.

Sometimes I have entire made up conversations with someone else. As in, this is what I would say to so-and-so if I could. Or better yet, this is what I should have said to so-and-so when I had the chance.

Funny thing is, I don’t read out loud.  And I don’t really pray out loud, unless I’m praying with others.

But I talk to myself.

That is, of course, when I’m not singing whatever song happens to be in my head at the moment. Seriously, just ask any of my family or former co-workers. They’ll tell you.

Because there is always a song in my head. Always.

When I lay down at night and when I awake in the morning. Some song, or even sometimes, multiple songs, are going through my brain.

When I watched the movie Momma Mia! I had ABBA songs stuck in my head for days. I can’t watch that movie anymore. Or listen to ABBA. Not unless I’m prepared to go to bed singing Dancing Queen into my pillow for the next week.

Maybe I talk to override the music?

I don’t know.

I just know I’m probably weird.

I talk to myself. And I’m always singing something.

So don’t be surprised if you ever hear me say something and you think I’m talking to you and when you ask I say, “oh, nothing.”

Chances are good, I was really talking to me. 🙂

This entry was posted in Complete Randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I talk to myself.

  1. Kelly says:

    I’m so glad I’m not the only one who always has songs running through my head. Sometimes I’m left wondering where I got that particular song from. My poor son gets to listen to me sing all the time! I wonder how long it’ll be before he’s wanting me to stop singing. Or better yet, maybe he’ll want to sing along with me!

    Good to “hear” from you. Hope you’re doing well. Miss you! *hugs*

  2. jhintze says:

    I also do that. But I only say my end of fake conversations, not both ends. So I guess you could say that I’m not actually talking to myself. I’m fake talking to the fake person I’m having the fake conversation with. I usually make very valid points. Valid points that nobody ever hears. Except me.

    • finneyfer says:

      When I think about it, that’s usually how my conversations go too. I talk my side out loud but the other half is in my head. 🙂 Good to know I’m not alone.

  3. Scarredondo says:

    I’m going to go have a conversation with myself now about how you just totally described me and reassure myself that I am sane because I’m not the only one… And probably sing a little ABBA too since you brought it up and now it’s stuck in MY head.

Leave a Reply

