The Big Reveal

At 23 weeks, we are on the downside of this whole pregnancy shindig. Which is pretty cool, if not slightly terrifying.

We know we’re having a girl and we thought long and hard about names.  Now, I know we kept Eli’s name a secret from everyone. And that was super fun. But we decided to let the cat out of the bag this time around.

So without further ado, I am pleased to announce that our baby girl will be named…

Aubin Nicole

Aubin is pronounced just like it looks. Think Austin, but with a “b” instead of an “st”.

I’m sure she’ll be called all sorts of things once she’s actually here. Right now she’s called “baby girl” and “sister” a lot, sometimes “sissy”. I’m sure that will morph into all kinds of goofy things, like “little turkey” or “fart face” over time. But whatever.

As I sit here typing, she’s kicking away in my belly. She’s very active this little girl. But I’m not complaining. I’m honored. Privileged that I get the opportunity to experience childbearing one more time.

And in case you’re wondering, (because I get asked often) this is it for us. I don’t want to have a newborn at 40. Call me selfish or whatever you want, I just don’t. As it is I’ll be 37 when this child is born and that’s close enough to 40 for me.  So unless we adopt, we’re sticking with 2 kids. Lord willing.

Pregnancy-wise things are moving right along with no hitch in our giddy-up. We have a follow up ultrasound with the Perinatologist next week to double check that her heart has four chambers and is working correctly and that all else is looking like it should and then we’ll be in countdown mode. Well, sort of.

I must say, things are definitely different this time around. For starters, I weighed a lot less when I got pregnant. Which was great for my health, but kinda stinks in the maternity clothes department. Thankfully, a friend gave me some of hers that fit and I actually feel like a cute pregnant lady, not just a chick wearing clothes that are way too big and make me simply look fat.

But I’m also not so completely obsessed with all things pregnancy related like I was the first time. I guess it’s because I kind of know what to expect now. I mean seriously, most times I get asked how far along I am and I have to think about it. Or pull out my iPod Touch and check my pregnancy app to tell me. I’m such a dork.

Plus this time around, I’m busy chasing a very active toddler and changing ridiculous numbers of poopy diapers. Which I think we’ve gotten under control with a bit of a diet moderation and the addition of a daily dose of probiotics. Thank. God. For serious.

But I digress. 

Mostly, I’m enjoying being pregnant this time around. Even with the fatigue, crazy dreams, middle of the night trips to the potty, constant kicking and poking, and being hungry what feels like all day long, I’m able to enjoy it. Probably because I know this is the last time. I want to savor it.

Oh, I’m sure I’ll have my share of get this baby out of here already moments to come, but for now, I’m okay. I’m looking forward to decorating the nursery. And getting cute little girl baby clothes. And shoes. And bows. And toys. And hats. And dresses. And bloomers. And smocks. Oh my, stop me now…

The bottom line is, Baby Aubin is on her way.  And I am so excited.

And I love her already.

This entry was posted in Aubin, Eli, Family, Health, life, Motherhood, Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

