Advanced Maternal Age

That’s what they call it. You know, when you’re pregnant and you’re over 35. I’m 36 and will turn 37 a few weeks before Mini Finney-The Sequel is born.

So since my eggs are over 36 years old, we have to get all this extra testing done. Since I could never, ever, never, ever, never, ever terminate a pregnancy under any circumstances, I turned down the amnio. Which my doc was okay with given the risks it carries for miscarriage. But. He still recommends a special blood screening along with genetic counseling and a  “detailed” ultrasound with a Peri-Natologist. (For those of you who don’t know what that is, it’s basically an OB who specializes in high-risk pregnancy. That’s what they consider you when you are OLD Advanced Maternal Age. Isn’t that nice?)

I’ll get all of that done on August 17.

This was all scheduled after today’s routine OB appointment.  The appointment I asked M to accompany me to because I was afraid we wouldn’t hear a heartbeat. Silly of me though, because not only did we hear a good heartbeat, but doc had to chase this little bean down because as soon as he’d hear it, my child would move. I have a jumping bean in there!

He didn’t seem to mind, though and reported that an active baby is usually a sign of a healthy baby. So that’s good. My mom, however, says I’m gonna be in for a loooonnnngg pregnancy with an active baby. To which I wholeheartedly agree. I just pray I get to sleep at least a little over the next six months. (Oh, who am I kidding? Try the next 20 years! What we go through for our kids.)

BTW, the official due date is in: January 18, 2012.

Which makes me 14 weeks and 5 days pregnant today, in case you were wondering. 😉

So we’re praying for a healthy pregnancy and a healthy baby in January. If you feel like joining in on that prayer, be my guest. The Lord loves it when we come together before His throne to lift up one another. And I could use the comfort. I’m a little nervous.

This entry was posted in Pregnancy. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Advanced Maternal Age

  1. Kara Campbell says:

    This makes me happy, I wish you well!

  2. abismom04 says:

    Well of course I will join in on that prayer requiest. Anything for an old, oops I mean, advanced lady!!! lol

    That’s an excellent due date. It’s Dek’s 6th birthday! 😉

  3. Amanda says:

    I am beyond excited for you both and especially Eli!! How exciting!! Praying for peace for all of you, an easy pregnancy and a healthy baby! 🙂 Congratulations!!

  4. lindseymichelle says:

    Praying with you. And trust me, when you get to check in on your little bean more often, you’ll be glad you are OLD… I mean… advanced. 😉 I’m still glad we got all those peri-natal pictures out of this deal.

  5. Warren Selby says:

    Hey, give Claire a call, she’s got some pre-natal doctor stories to tell! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Age ain’t nothin’ but a number… | love.life.chocolate

Leave a Reply

