Blog Neglect

My poor blog has been neglected.

I wish I could say it’s because my social calendar’s packed and I just don’t have time to update.

But it isn’t.

Nope. I’ve just been doing other things. Like reading. Watching movies. Taking care of my kid. Being sick off and on. Taking care of my kid whose also been sick off and on. And sleeping.

I took the time to read a couple of books recently. I haven’t done that since E was born. And he’s now 13 months old. That’s a long time. Oh, sure, I’ve read stuff. Parenting books mostly. But no fun books like a good fun chick novel.

What did I read?  Well, since you asked, let me tell you. The first was a book by Sophie Kinsella called Twenties Girl.  (Okay, I remember in school you’re supposed to underline book titles and italicize magazines right? Or was it the other way around? And isn’t the rule different in type? Or is it quotes? Oh goodness…anyway.) It was a cute little book. I like Sophie Kinsella books. She’s a British author so it’s fun trying to figure out the lingo, but generally, they are easy to follow and very easy to read. She is the author of the famed “Shopaholic” series and I find her books quite entertaining. 

The second book I read was a book by Christian author Tracey Bateman, called Leave it to Claire” (There, I know that’s incorrect punctuation, too, but I figured I’d cover all the bases with that one.) Anyway, it’s an interesting book. Also easy to read. It chronicles the life of a divorcee in her late 30’s with 4 kids going through various stages of rebellion. I found it entertaining but kind of annoying. The lead character, Claire, kinda got on my nerves. Oh, and what is it about novelists writing into a story that someone lives in Texas and has a basement? I don’t know of anyone who has a basement in Texas. I wish these authors from the midwest (or wherever she’s from that clearly has homes equipped with basements) would do their homework a little bit and realize that there are no basements in Texas. At least not that I’m aware of. Please correct me if I’m wrong. Seriously.

Anyway, I finished both books in a couple of days each. Which means I spent a lot of my spare time reading. If not sleeping. So, the blog was neglected.

We also went ahead and jumped on the Netflix bandwagon. Partly so we could have a date night. It’s been great. $11 a month well spent in my opinion. We hooked my old PC up to the tv and stream directly to the television that way. The only problem is, Big Bertha (my PC) is quite old and doesn’t have a very good graphics card, so we don’t see anything in HD. Not that big a deal though. We have watched several DVD’s and been pleasantly surprised by movies we never knew we wanted to watch. Two movies that I highly recommend (especially if you’re a Denzel fan. I mean, who doesn’t love Denzel?) Are Unstoppable and Deja Vu. The former was a great suspense action kind of thing about a runaway train. Based on a true story. It was really good. The second was a crazy action, make you think kinda sci-fi sorta movie. Also excellent.

So far, we’ve only had one movie that I seriously wish I could have those two hours back. But I did it for my husband. The Expendables, starring Sylvester Stallone, various UFC and WWE/WWF stars, with a small cameo appearance by Bruce and Ahhhhnold. It was your basic shoot ’em up, kill as many guys in the most ridiculous ways possible per scene, no real story line, terrible acting, total guy movie movie.  It was way stupid folks. Unless you seriously don’t want to think and just want to veg while watching things get shot, stabbed and blown up, I don’t recommend this flick for ya. But your husband will probably love it.

Next in the queue: Sex and the City 2. Ahh, yes. Sweet revenge sisters! ha! 

Not to mention the fact that my one year old is killin’ me with his crazy sleep changes. For a while now, he’s been going down around 6:30 or 7 in the evening and sleeps till about 7:30 a.m. Then he goes down for his first nap around 9 and sleeps for about 2 hours. Second nap is sometime after lunch. Well, the last couple of weeks, he started sleeping in until 8, 8:30, sometimes even 9 a.m. I’m NOT kidding! I was so confused I didn’t know when to lay him down for naps. Now all of a sudden, he’s been waking up at 6:30 a.m. What is up with that kid? Naps are easy when you’re up by 6:30, though. The kid’s exhausted by 8 or 8:30 a.m. And mommy gets a nice little nap, too.

He’s cutting four molars, too. Oy vey. I think they’ve all cut through now, so we’re in the clear. It’s hard to tell though, because when I stick my finger in there to get a good feel, he bites down with his front teeth and practically cuts my finger in half if I don’t get it in there just right. Needless to say, I don’t do that very often.

My cousin has a newborn and I’ve spent quite a bit of time helping her out, too. On the phone or by text. It’s kinda weird to be giving someone else advice, when I was totally clueless only a year ago. Crazy thing is, she’s bringing back so many memories. Things I had forgotten about from those first few weeks of having a new baby in my home. Things like, why won’t he stop crying? why is he so congested? is he getting enough to eat? should I be putting him to bed at a certain time? why won’t he let me put him down? is he spoiled? this baby hates me!  I remember feeling every single ounce of that frustration and angst. Oh, the insanity of it all! I think God causes us to block out those memories on purpose. That way we keep on procreating. Otherwise, I don’t think any of us would be here. Nope. No way.

Next week, hubs is having surgery. I’m kinda nervous. But I know he’s in God’s hands. He’ll be okay. I pray he’ll be okay. I know he’ll be okay. Pray for us if you think about it. I think I’m more nervous than he is. Typical.

So you see, my blog may be neglected, but my family isn’t. And sometimes, that’s just the way it has to be.

This entry was posted in Complete Randomness, life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blog Neglect

  1. juicebardiva says:

    You are both in my prayers. Hang in there. I’ve been reading a lot too. I actually read a Danielle Steele book (not normal for me) and I really enjoyed it! Loooove the Kindle. Hugs –

Leave a Reply

