Shhh…don’t tell anyone…

I’ve done several posts about things that I really like. So I thought today, being opposite day and all, I would share stuff that, well, I’m just not that into. Here’s a couple of little gems you may not know about me.

I’m just not one of those people who decorate for all the various holidays and/or seasons. I have friends who do, and I love them anyway. But, when you come into my home, it will look the same all year long. Except for Christmas. I like decorating for Christmas. But I am usually ready to get the house back to normal after that month of green and red and Christmas tree fun. I’m not saying there’s anything wrong with decorating all year round. I just don’t do it. For one thing, I can’t afford it. (At least that’s good enough justification in my mind.) Besides, I figure I have enough clutter without trying to throw spring flower trinkets, fourth of July bunting and cornucopia centerpieces into the mix. Maybe that’ll change as E gets older. Nah. Probably not.

I’m not big on eating sandwiches. M eats them everyday. In fact, I usually buy two loaves of bread at a time. And we usually have to run to the store to at least buy more bread and milk (also 2 gallons at a time) before the next big grocery trip. But me? If given the choice, I’d take just about anything over a homemade sandwich. I like them from deli’s or places like Subway, but they just aren’t my favorite thing to make at home. Like this morning, I thought about making a sandwich, but opted for Cheerio’s instead. And for lunch I had leftovers.  I don’t know if it’s the bread, or the lunch meat, or what. Call me crazy, they just aren’t my thing.  Don’t get me wrong, I’ll eat them. I just have to really be in the mood. Or it has to be my only option for eating something semi-nutritious. Or we’re out of leftovers.

I hate filing papers. But. I don’t like throwing things away that I think need to be filed. (Read: the office area is was a mess.) With this in mind, yesterday, we spent the afternoon/evening moving the desk from the office/guest room into the living room. I like it in here. I just hope the clutter bug doesn’t attack. And I stay on top of the filing. Without just throwing things in a pile and looking through it in a year (or two).  For example, last night, while M was going through a stack of papers that had been treated thusly, he found 3 unused gift cards totaling more than $50. One was expired and one was from a store that is no longer in business. But the best thing he found? A check for $75 from the city for some kind of utility deposit good credit reimbursement or something. It was in an envelope that was never opened. Until last night. And it’s dated 12/11/2009. Good grief. Wonder if the bank will cash it. Can’t hurt to try, right? So now that the office is in the living room, I can keep a better eye on E while he plays. And I can work. Or file. In the same room. So there’s that.

Along those same lines, I have trouble purging. Especially those papers that I thought were important enough to hang onto without filing for a year or more. And then once they make it into a file. Well. Then I really don’t know what to do. It overwhelms me. Stresses me out. Makes me nervous to think about throwing some document away that I thought was worthy enough to hang onto. For example, I still have all my original student loan paperwork. From 1993. Do I need it? Probably not. But I am not exactly sure what to do with it. So for now, it’s taking up storage space in the same plastic file holder that I bought to keep it in back in 1993. With other stuff from that first year in college. Mementos or just plain crazy? You be the judge. All I know is I don’t know what else to do with it. So for now it has a home in the back closet.

Eli will be a year old in 9 days. And as he cruises into toddlerhood, I’ve started integrating more big people food into his diet. Eliminating the baby food. Here’s my problem with that. I know he needs to have big people food. And in many ways, it’s nice, because if he feeds himself, that means I can eat, too. Like, at the same time. This is so huge, childless people! But. It takes some extra effort on my part. It was so easy to just go grab a jar of food and feed it to him, little spoonful by little spoonful, in like five minutes flat. Now, I have to spend time figuring out what to feed him. Hoping and praying it’s nutritious enough. Then cutting it up into little, itty bitty pieces so he doesn’t choke. Then fix myself a plate. Eat. Then clean up the mess. His mess. Because it’s a big mess. I’m sure that will change. Eventually. Like in 10 or 12 or 20 years.

As a mom, I don’t know what I’m doing most of the time. So when new milestones approach (like feeding him big people food) I read a book (or two or three) about it. Parenting books are my friend these days. On my nightstand throughout the last year was Baby 411. Which I recently replaced with Toddler 411. I also recently purchased Dr. Dobson’s Bringing Up Boys in hopes that I don’t totally screw up my son. I devour websites and talk with other moms and somehow we muddle through. Then just when I think I’ve got things figured out, we’re on to something new. Like turning one. In nine days.  Holy cow.

So there. Now don’t you feel enlightened? I think I’ve shared enough for now. I’m kinda glad I got that stuff off my chest.  Meanwhile, my son is refusing to fall asleep, so I’m gonna go see what that’s all about. Maybe he needs a diaper change. Or a sandwich.

This entry was posted in Complete Randomness, Eli, life, Marcus. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Shhh…don’t tell anyone…

  1. lindseymichelle says:

    LOL – or a sandwich. You crack me up. Yeah, I’m with on not liking homemade sandwiches.

  2. abismom04 says:

    I just burst out laughing at the end — or a sandwhich.

    $75 says he does indeed need a sandwhich — and that’s a safe bet b/c you apparently don’t cash checks for $75 anyway.

    • finneyfer says:

      Well, i can guarantee you, that if we had opened that piece of mail, that check would have been cashed. We are not in the habit of not cashing checks. Not usually, anyway.

  3. finneyfer says:

    The gel pack was huge. So definitely diaper change. Now he’s up. And wreaking havoc because he’s tired. Oy.

  4. Renee says:

    Maybe we need to have a paper purging party! I’ll bring my several-years old box of “crucial” documents & uncashed checks, and you do the same … then we’ll sift the other one’s papers. Less emotional hang-up time that way … otherwise, right there in the boat with you! 🙂

  5. Pingback: You’ll never believe it… | love.life.chocolate

  6. Pingback: Sammich. | love.life.chocolate

Leave a Reply

