Reflections

If you have been reading this blog, or know me at all, you know that the last month or so has been tough for me. Really tough.

But this week has been especially difficult.

With a lot of tears. And heartache.

Anger and sadness.

Highs and lows.

But in the midst of sorrow, I count myself blessed. Because I am loved. God loves me so deeply, that He has sent people to love me in a tangible way. People like my husband. And my son. And my friends.

Every day, I am so humbled to be loved by such an incredible man. My husband has been my rock this week. He has been there for me. To love me and support me and lend me a shoulder to cry on. Even in the wee hours of the morning. Even in his own suffering.

And I’ve been loved on by friends. Wonderful ladies whom God has so masterfully placed in my life, for such a time as this. Who understand. Who cry with me. And hurt with me. Mourn with me. Lift me up. Without even saying a word.

I don’t know why we have to experience pain. But I know this. This world is broken. Sorrow and pain abound. And while I don’t like it, I know that pain and sorrow have purpose. To grow. And stretch. And strengthen faith. And character. And to bond people together.

And lead us to the cross.

The place of ultimate suffering. And sorrow. And immeasurable pain. The place where sin and death were conquered through toil and pain and tears.The place where victory is declared through the blood of Jesus.

That we might experience love never-ending. Life everlasting. And inexplicable peace in the midst of sorrow.

Because through the cross, we are delivered. From death into life. From mourning into dancing. Trading beauty for ashes. Turning sorrow into joy.

And at the end of the day, this is why I can say with Job, “Though he slay me, yet will I hope in him.” (Job 13:15)

Yep, it’s been a hard month. And an especially difficult week. But I know that I am loved.

And I am not alone.

This entry was posted in Faith, Friendship, life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reflections

  1. lindseymichelle says:

    Nope. Never alone. Not ever.

  2. jhintze says:

    “For such a time as this” … I’ve thought that phrase way too many times in the last few years. Always when I’m going to help or comfort or minister to or just love on someone whose going through a type of pain that I can identify with. “For such a time as this” I love you, Jennifer Finney, and I’m glad you’re in my life.

  3. juicebardiva says:

    You and your family are in my prayers. Faith can be a difficult thing when life continues to throw huge curveballs. I honor you for keeping your faith strong when life tries to bring you down. God puts what we can handle in front of us, and to make us stronger with him, he constantly challenges us and our own perserverance and strength. If he didn’t we would never become stronger, better or closer to him. You are loved and you have a beautiful heart and soul. You are never alone. Hugs hugs hugs!

Leave a Reply

