Eggs on End

So Sunday, March 20th, was the Vernal Equinox.  Also known as the Spring Equinox. Or the first day of Spring. It was late and we were watching the 10 o’clock news when my husband said the most curious thing.

Marcus: “Today’s the equinox. That means you could stand an egg up right.”
Jennifer: “What? That’s not possible.”
Marcus: “Yes it is. I did it in grade school. We did it at school and then I remember coming home and doing it after school.”
Jennifer: Thinking.
Marcus: “Seriously. The earth is perfectly straight or or in balance something like that. But it will only work on the equinox.”
Jennifer: “Prove it.”
Marcus: “Get me the eggs.”

And then he did this:

And the next thing I know, he did this:

It turns out, after a little bit of research, and the fact that I stood one up myself a few days later, that it’s not just due to the equinox. Given the right amount of patience and the right egg, you can do this just about any day of the year. Shhh, don’t tell my husband.

Apparently, it’s an ancient Chinese tradition to stand eggs on end on the Spring Equinox. It’s a sign of fertility and of luck in the new planting season, which typically begins with the start of Spring. There’s also a ceremony celebrated in New York City begun by columnist Donna Henes on the first day of Spring every year.

I don’t care what they say, or how many eggs you stand up year-round, it’s still pretty doggone cool. My husband is a genius.

This entry was posted in Complete Randomness, Marcus. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

