I’m baaaaccck!!!

I think it’s finally safe to say I’m feeling somewhat normal again.  I won’t go so far as to say I’m 100 percent. But I’m getting there.

Whew, that was definitely worse than I expected. And I hope I never have to do it again. At least not anytime soon.

I’m thankful that my neurologist has been reluctant to give me steroid treatments in the past. I remember a long time ago being told that it would take two weeks of my life to get treatment and recover and they were right. I feel like I was in some sort of black hole the last two weeks. Completely sheltered while the world went on around me, business as usual.

My eye is better. And other than feeling a bit like I have some sort of upper respiratory thing, I’m doing much better.

I decided it’s time to go back on my Copaxone. It’s the daily injection that treats the progression of the disease. It’s been 19 months since my last shot. I stopped taking it when I got pregnant. I started it back up two nights ago. I hate those injections, but it’s better than the alternative.

On that note, I have started weaning Eli as well. It’s just time. His pediatrician said that I can nurse him while on Copaxone, but I’m just not comfortable with that. Nursing him is no longer providing my body the protection it once did. Besides, he’ll be a year old in six weeks and I was planning to quit at a year anyway. It’s bittersweet. I’ll be happy to have someone else be able to feed him at 5 a.m. but I will miss that intimate bonding time, too. Although, to be honest, he is a crazy kid when it comes to nursing these days. He climbs all over me half the time and is on and off about 20 times during a session. So I’ll be glad to stop being his personal jungle gym/milk supply five times a day. But I’m sure I’ll miss it.

So I guess that’s that. If you prayed for me or even thought about me at all over the last two weeks, I appreciate it. It was definitely rough going there for awhile, but thankfully it’s over now.

I have to thank my mom for helping so much. For staying with me so many nights and days. For keeping me company. Making me lunch. Insisting I lay down and take a nap. And just being here for me and for Eli while Marcus was at work.

And thanks to so many of you for your encouraging words. They mean a lot to me. Big thanks go to Jennifer Cannan who brought me dinner one night last week. That was an unexpected blessing when I needed it most. And super yummy! Definitely write that cookbook.

Finally, to Marcus. I didn’t sign up for this. But you did. You knew what you were getting when you chose to spend your life with me. In sickness and in health. I’m so thankful for your love and support.  You will always be mine. I love you.

This entry was posted in Health, life, Multiple Sclerosis. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

