Such a Pretty Face

All my life I’ve struggled with my weight. There’s just always been too much of it. Even when I was young and on the swim team, my coach told my mom that if I would lose 20 pounds I would be way faster and could win more races. I did win a lot though. I had scores of first place ribbons to prove it. Yeah, I probably could have been faster, but I was healthy and having fun. Thankfully my mom never shared this little tidbit with me until I was older.

Last night I got all gussied up to go to a dinner party and when my husband told me I was “smokin’ hot” I dismissed him and complained that my clothes didn’t fit right. Ugh! Why do I do this? Why don’t I just believe him and say “thank you”? I might get more compliments if I responded like that.

So when I got home, my friend Jenny had posted the most amazing blog about this very subject. It’s like God wanted to remind me that beauty is not just what’s on the outside that matters, but the inside as well. And to believe my husband when he tells me I look “smokin’ hot”.

So I wonder where those pesky negative messages come from. You know, the ones in our brains that tell us to blow off our husband’s compliments?  I know for me, it goes back to my lifelong struggle with my weight. One thing I was always told by the very well intentioned, was this:

“You have such a pretty face.”

While I get that that is supposed to be a compliment, all I heard was insult. Because beyond that “compliment” was the statement:

“but the rest of you is horrendous. Fat. Worthless. Certainly not beautiful.”

So whatever you do, please, I implore you, never ever ever never ever tell someone just that they have a pretty face.  Never. It’s just rude. Even if it is true. Even if that’s really what you want to say because for some reason, their face looks striking that day.  The problem is, however well intentioned you are, it completely dismisses who they are as a whole person.

So if you are going to take the time to compliment someone, please tell them that they look pretty or beautiful or smokin’ hot. It goes a lot farther. Trust me.

Because we are all more than just a pretty face. But sometimes we forget. And it’s good to be reminded.

This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Such a Pretty Face

  1. jhintze says:

    I love this post. And I love your honesty in it. We all have struggles. We ALL have struggles. We all have things about ourselves that we wish we could change. And we carry them, hide them, show them in all kinds of different ways.
    You are SO MUCH MORE than just a pretty face. So much more. I’m gonna start calling you “Smoky.” 🙂

  2. abismom04 says:

    Don’t be surprised the next time I see you when I slap you on the butt and say, “Looking good woman.”

    😉

  3. Beverly says:

    I love your honesty! And I love the comments by others. We all have issues of some kind – things we wish were different about us. But, God planned each one of us and that means we are perfectly made! How cool is that! And, for the record, I think you’re beautiful – inside & out!

  4. Kimberly Wilson says:

    Jennifer, I completely understand where you are coming from. I too have struggled and now I let my husbands complements soak in and fill me! I am wonderfully and fearfully made! And so are all of us! You, my dear are a beautiful person inside and out and a joy to be around the bits I get to see you at buncos!

Leave a Reply

