A Love Story – Part Deux

So it’s the week before Valentine’s Day and I thought I would take the time to love on my husband this week in my posts and tell you our story. Start here for day one.


We quickly started dating seriously. We were almost instantly a couple. I was living in Houston, so most of my weekends consisted of me driving to LJ to spend time with him. He would come up to my place occasionally, but it was difficult for him because he was super allergic to one of my cats. His poor eyes would swell up and he’d sneeze like crazy. That’s love right there!

Frankie, the fat precocious tabby.

Now before Marcus came along, I had another Marcus. But not like you might think. In 2005 I was diagnosed with MS. I had trouble talking about it. It was just awkward. Especially if I was experiencing symptoms. So my best friend Katie suggested we give it a name so I could talk about it more easily. She and I had a fave restaurant with a favorite waiter. Whose name happened to be Marcus. Lacking any creativity or imagination, and because that’s where we were when she suggested it, that’s the name I used to refer to my disease. No Joke.

Me with Marcus the waiter

We used that moniker for several months. It was great! I had discovered freedom from MS.  Now, if I didn’t feel up to getting dinner or going shopping, I would simply say, “No thanks, Marcus is pretty tired and wants to go to bed early.”  And everyone understood what I meant. It gave me hope and laughter when I needed it most.

Soon, I would forget about using the name Marcus and I became okay with calling it what it was and learning to deal with my limitations.  My friends got used to it, too.  And life moved on.

When I met my husband, I had completely forgotten about that. So did Katie. But not my other bestie, Christy.  When I told her about our first date and when I told her his name she just about jumped through the phone at me.  “Are you kidding? His name is Marcus? Like Marcus, Marcus?”  I didn’t know what she meant. I was like, why are you saying that? What do you mean, “Marcus, Marcus?” When I finally realized what she meant, I screamed! I couldn’t believe it.  What are the odds?

Had God really done what I think he had done?  On the night of our rehearsal dinner I told this story and added that the first Marcus was a made-up persona I had used to deal with a difficult situation, but now He gave me the real thing to help me get through all of my difficult situations.  What a great God.

Incidentally, Marcus knew about my MS before he ever contacted me. It was not something I hid from people. Still isn’t. Obviously. When I asked him about his feelings about my MS and what it could potentially mean for our life together, he was very simple about it and his response to me, while not an exact quote, echoed the line from Steel Magnolias:

“I’d rather have 30 minutes of wonderful than a lifetime of nothin’ special.”

Being a paramedic and seeing patients with MS, he knew what he was getting into.  Meeting me was the first time he’d met a person with MS who wasn’t of limited mobility. Most of the folks he’d come across were wheelchair bound or bedridden. So he came in with eyes wide open to what our future may hold. Thankfully, so far, my life and my mobility are in tact. I don’t have any reason to believe it won’t stay that way. But you never know.

And that’s one more thing that made me fall for him. Because in spite of what could be, he chose to love me anyway.

This entry was posted in A Love Story, Love, Marcus, Multiple Sclerosis. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Love Story – Part Deux

  1. lgmemaw says:

    This is a beautiful story and i’m so glad you shared it. I love you and am so glad you are part of our family. God is awesome in the things he does in our lives. So many people don’t put the little pictures together to make a big picture. That is so awesome that you get it. Love Auntie

Leave a Reply

