Guess How Much I Love You?

Guess How Much I Love You

I love this book. I read it to Eli at bedtime. In it, Little Nutbrown Hare asks Big Nutbrown Hare to guess how much he loves him. And Little Nutbrown Hare says:

“I love you this much!” spreading his arms wide and stretching as far as he can reach.

But of course, Big Nutbrown Hare loves him more. Much more. Because he’s bigger and has more love to give. The whole book goes on with the comparisons of just how much Little Nutbrown Hare loves Big Nutbrown Hare, but he’s always outdone. In the end, Little Nutbrown Hare figures he can’t be outdone by the sky which is really far. He says, “I love you all the way up to the moon.” Big Nutbrown Hare doesn’t compare anymore. He just says “that’s far. That’s very, very far.” and tucks him into bed. Then when Little Nutbrown Hare falls asleep, Big Nutbrown Hare whispers, “I love you all the way up to the moon, and back.”

I love this story because it’s the perfect reflection of a parent’s love. I love my son so deeply, he’ll never fully understand until he becomes a parent. And even then, I don’t know that he’ll ever really know.

I also love this story because it’s a great reflection of God’s love for us. As much as I love Him, I can never love Him more than He loves me. And I’m okay with that. It’s not a contest to see who can love more. But like Little Nutbrown Hare, I want to love Him more.

Because the more I love Him, the more I know He loves me.  Because to love Him takes more than little ol’ me can give.  It’s supernatural. And I want the supernatural working on my behalf. To help me love Him bigger and better.

And sometimes, I think God gives us a break. He lets us love as much as we can and then He lets us rest in our love for Him. Then, he tucks us in and kisses our foreheads and while we are sleeping He whispers over us:

For as high as the heavens are above the earth, so great is my love for you; as far as the east is from the west, so far have I removed your transgressions from you.

I love you so much, that I gave my one and only Son, Jesus, so that by believing in him, you shall not perish but have eternal life.

I love you so much, that I am with you, I am mighty to save.
I take great delight in you,
I will quiet you with my love,
I will rejoice over you with singing.

Can you imagine? The God of the universe sings over us!

I don’t know about you, but that just absolutely takes my breath away.



Yep. I love Him all the way up to the moon.

But He loves me all the way up to the moon…

and back.

This entry was posted in Eli, God, Love, Motherhood, Singing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

