Catching up

So lately I’ve been composing entire blog posts in my mind. Generally late at night. Which is why they don’t get composed at the actual keyboard. I’ve been so busy with life, that I’ve barely had a chance to sit at my computer, much less blog. And so much has happened since my last post, I don’t even know where to begin.

For starters, my baby boy is crawling and cruising. All. Over. The. Place.

He’s really starting to show his personality more. He laughs and smiles a lot. I love it. He bounces and talks and babbles and is hilarious. Especially when we feed him. That boy is something else. He’s so good, too. He’ll play all by himself in his little toy castle or the pack and play (read: corral) which gives me time to do things like cook and clean. A mother’s work is never done.

The day he started to crawl, we also moved his mattress down. It’s a good thing, too, because when I went to check on him, this is what I found…

While the mattress is still in the same position, the bumper pad is history. He kept trying to use it to climb on the crib. Uh-oh.

The other day he said his first real word: mama.   Awwww. Swoon. Heart melting just a little. It was wonderful. He was laying (or lying?) on my lap after nursing just a babbling away and he looked at me with those big blue eyes and sighed and said “mama” and smiled. It was so precious. It made me smile so big. Then he made a face like he was pooping, but he actually didn’t. It was funny, though.  Then we played together and he said it again. Be still my heart. I know soon enough I’ll get sick of hearing it all the time, but it was a moment I hope I never forget.

Thursday was a busy day in the kitchen. I made taco soup for a friend and spaghetti and meatballs for us. Then Friday I was sick. Like 102-fever-achy body-couldn’t walk-sick. Marcus was scheduled to work but called off so he could help with Eli.  I knew the second I woke up that I had a fever and there was NO way I could take care of him by myself for 24 hours. Thankfully, it was just a 24-hour bug of some sort and we were able to entertain friends from Dallas on Saturday evening. We made the most scrumptious dinner, too. Pioneer Woman’s Perfect Pot Roast and Creamy Mashed Potatoes.  In a word: Delicious. It was like we’d died and gone to heaven in a sea of meaty, buttery goodness. There was salad, too. (I threw that bit of info in for my dad’s sake. There always has to be a green vegetable, right?)

Then on Monday, we hosted small group at our house. The host family had sick kiddos and since my house was fairly clean from Saturday, I figured we could have it here. I cooked again. Spaghetti and meatballs. And they ate it all. Many went back for seconds. Always a good sign of a great meal.

Today is cold. Record cold. When I woke up, my weather app said it was 23 degrees outside. And E had his 9 month check up this morning. Which I had to bundle him up for. It warmed up by the time I took him though. A whole 3 degrees. It’s now 35, by the way. I put him in a sweatshirt and jacket with some socks. Poor kid. When he felt the cold and wind he was like, “huh” (that’s his general grunting sound) and not too happy about it. He did well for Dr. B though. He’s growing up. He weighs 21 pounds and is 28 inches long. Holy moly! So it’s a good thing we got him that new car seat.

So you see, life has sort of taken over here at the homestead. It’s been crazy, but I love it.

This entry was posted in Eli, Food, life, Small Groups. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Catching up

  1. Carol Selby says:

    Your dad was reading this over my shoulder and it made him soooo happy to know you included salad in your “heavenly” meal!!!

  2. lindseymichelle says:

    Ha! Patrick and Eli are pretty much the same size! 21 lbs and 28.5 inches! That’s crazy.

  3. Claudette Heard says:

    oh jennifer he is just precious!!! I wish i could get out there but I dont see it happening 😦 I am so proud for Marcus and you

Leave a Reply

