Milestones

This is a post about Eli. I rarely ever blog about him, but he’s been so busy lately, I just had to share.  Quite frankly, our little man is growing up way too fast!  He’s now 5 1/2 months old. My how time flies. He’s doing some really cool things, too.

He is so cute learning to vocalize. Earlier this month, he started grunting. He would grunt until his face turned red. At first we thought maybe he was in pain or was constipated, but nope, he just discovered a new sound I guess. He has moved on this week to making the cutest, high-pitch squeal known to man! I think at times only the dog can hear it. 🙂

I love to make him laugh. I can tickle him and he goes nuts! He loves playing in the jumperoo we borrowed from friends and he’s starting to figure out how to actually jump in it. We retired the swing a couple of weeks ago. It’s back up in the attic until God sees fit to give us another kid and we need it again.

 

Bouncy! Bouncy! Bouncy!

 

He’s growing, growing, growing! He has almost outgrown his sleep suits and has been wearing his 6 mos clothes for a month now. I washed a bunch of hand-me-downs recently that were 9-12 months and they fit him just fine. It’s unbelievable.

 

This is a 12 month sleep suit. Unreal! He sat down with daddy and just hugged him like that. It was so adorable!

 

A couple of weeks ago, I started giving him some banana. The first couple of times, I simply fed him while he sat on my lap, straight from the banana. A couple of nights ago, I tried mashing it and using a spoon, but he didn’t seem to like it very well.  Maybe because it had a different consistency. More liquidy that way. Anyway, last night, we set him in his high chair and I cut up some banana and put it on his tray. He went nuts! He was so cute feeding himself and got banana everywhere. I wish I had taken a picture. Needless to say, he got a bath before bedtime.

 

This is me in my high chair. I like it. 🙂

 

He’s been rolling over from his tummy to his back a lot more lately, too. I will often place him on his tummy and come back to find him on his back. I’m sure he’ll figure out how to keep going soon.

 

This is how I roll... from my tummy...

 

 

...to my back! TADA!!!

 

And the coolest thing he’s started doing in the last couple of weeks: sitting up! He still can’t stay up for very long on his own yet, but his balance is steadily improving. I know soon he’ll be sitting up all the time. Next he’ll be lunging forward and figure out how to get up on those knees and crawl.  Whew, Lord help us all!

 

I'm not sitting in the chair but I can still play with these cool toys!

 

It’s so neat to watch him grow. I’m so thankful that I get to stay home and experience life with him.

Motherhood truly is the best job in the world!

 

Mmmm...baby fingers are sooo tasty!

 

This entry was posted in Eli, Family, life, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Milestones

  1. abismom04 says:

    He is a busy man!!!! I was just going to ask you if you were feeding him any solids and ask you how that has worked in with nursing!! Ellie eats solids (apples and chicken baby food mixed with oatmeal to thicken it – or tender golden sweet potatos mixed with oatmeal or wagon wheels, or yogurt melts) and it hasn’t slowed her nursing down at all!

    She is sleeping a long stretch when we first lay her down – so long as we don’t go in there. 7pm to (last night) 2am. 5-6 hours – but she is in our room so we’re falling asleep on the couch/chair/floor in the living room and then going in when she wakes up to nurse again. not ideal. lol I want to be in my own bed about 10pm!!

    • finneyfer says:

      See, he’s in his own room and has been since week six. We all sleep way better that way. He’s been sleeping through the night pretty consistently for a while now. Late night wake up calls are the exception rather than the rule these days. Of course last night was one of those rarer nights where he woke up twice. So I never know what he’s going to do.

      • abismom04 says:

        I have considered moving Ellie into her crib for this first stretch of sleep – but her crib is currently in Abi’s room and I am not sure I trust Abi – so I am not sure what to do.

        Good thing our couch is comfy.

      • finneyfer says:

        Well, there I go bragging about what a great sleeper he is, and he’s been up for three nights in a row. Growth spurt? Teething? I haven’t got a clue, but I’ve got to learn my lesson and stop talking about his sleep habits! I keep jinxing it!

Leave a Reply

