Not Your Avid Blogger


So I have a confession to make: I’m not an avid blogger.

HELLO CAPTAIN OBVIOUS!

Seriously though, I know so many people who blog daily. Religiously. And I applaud and thank them for it. Their blogs are what get me through multiple nursing sessions all hours of the day and night.  I love reading about my friend Lindsey’s journey through life and the musings of my friend, Jenny, who is not only a stay-at-home mom, but an incredible photographer and homeschooler. I enjoy the humor from off-color blogger-turned-author Jen Lancaster. (Who spells Jen correctly with only one “n” I might add.) I also enjoy the takes on pop-culture, Christianity and all things girl-related (like the way it feels to shop at Sephora) by Christian chick-lit author (and fellow MS-er) Kristin Billerbeck.  I keep up with the toddling’s of my friend Cat’s baby girl and my friend Heather’s little man (only a couple months older than Eli).

I do most of this reading from my iPod touch while nursing. I love my iPod touch. It’s just like the iPhone but without the phone (or the data package price tag which suits me just fine.)  The only thing I wish is that the iPod touch had a camera/video capability. Wouldn’t you know it, they just introduced that in the new model yesterday. Now I will covet it since I can’t justify the purchase right now. Anyway, I digress.

The thing is, all of these people, (the one’s who are avid, daily bloggers) are probably the type of people who kept a diary when they were 7 with the key stashed in a special spot under the spinning ballerina in their pink jewelry boxes. They probably have a library of journals organized by date and stored for safe keeping, all chronicling their lives from puberty to marriage and beyond.

Not me. I journal like I blog. Sporadically. If you were to look at consecutive journal entries, they would probably read something like this: “I’m going out with this new guy and I really like him.” to “I’m getting married tomorrow!” NO JOKE!

I would like to say I’ll be better at blogging. You know, so I can have a good story of my life to one day slurp into a book and then have to read later as a precious memento of this time in my life. But right now, I’m happy if I can get my little one to take a nap lasting longer than 15 minutes so I can pee. 🙂  (He’s in dreamland as I type or I wouldn’t be here now.)

Lately I’ve had all these random topics flying through my head that I’d love to talk about, but I’m not sure they’ll ever get written down.

  • Things like the trouble and fits Eli gives me when I am trying to get him down for a nap or for the night. I just don’t know what I’m doing wrong, if anything. But the screaming sometimes is merciless and exhausting.
  • Or the fact that motherhood is the single most difficult, challenging and incredibly rewarding thing I’ve ever done.
  • Or my discovery of “mom-guilt”. I now get why mom’s can lay the best guilt trips on others, because I do it to myself on a fairly regular basis. Like feeling guilty for having a healthy baby and feeling so overwhelmed at times when he won’t stop screaming while other moms don’t ever get to bring their babies home from the hospital. See, instant guilt.  The problem with guilt is, while it can give you a good perspective about a situation, it can also devalue a true feeling or experience you’re having. Kind of like, “suck it up, buttercup, it could be worse”.  Which, while it may be true, sort of dismisses the fact that for you, this is all you can take of a given situation without allowing you to be in the moment and really deal with the raw emotion, however trivial it may seem to others.
  • I want to tell you how much I love my husband and about all the incredible things he’s done to keep me happy this week, like clean this house from top to bottom for starters, including washing and ironing the drapes. Get up in the night with Eli. Grocery shopping. Watching Eli so I could go play Bunco Tuesday night and while I went to my ladies’ small group yesterday morning.  He’s such a good man. I love him so much.

And the list could go on, but I’ll stop for now. Marcus just got home and I need to go put supper on.  Here’s hoping I can write again tomorrow.

But if I don’t get another post up until Christmas, I’m okay with that.

Happy Holidays!

This entry was posted in Complete Randomness, life, Love, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Not Your Avid Blogger

  1. Carol Selby says:

    This post is terrific. Sounds like you’ve got a good perspective on things. Both your men are keepers! You keep asking what you’re doing wrong and I don’t think it’s a case of right or wrong with Eli’s sleep.

  2. Kelly says:

    I keep thinking I’ll start a blog so I can remember all this time, but haven’t gotten that far. You’ve got me beat! Glad you’re enjoying that sweet, cute little Eli. Can’t wait for him to meet Brian. (Come to think of it, I can’t wait until *I* get to meet Brian!)

  3. lindseymichelle says:

    Psst. Daily? Ha. I blog about once a week now. I just do about 4 posts at a time and have them scheduled to post at different times… so it just LOOKS like I am super on top of it. Tricky of me, huh?

    You are an awesome momma to Mr. Eli. He’s a lucky dude. ❤

  4. jhintze says:

    I love reading your posts…when you bother doing them! Ha! Ha! Just kidding. I blog first and foremost to document because I have a terrible memory, and secondly because it’s an escape. I don’t really watch shows on tv or get out much. Blogging is like therapy to me. Most of the time while I’m blogging I’m yelling at my children to GET OUTTA MY OFFICE!!!! But I certainly don’t blog daily. So keep the posts coming, Jen! You’re in my feed reader so I read every post.

    • Finneyfer says:

      Thanks for the encouragement! You two are hilarious. Shows what I know! You’re the one who told me I wasn’t an avid blogger. Remember? Thanks for the topic!

  5. Pingback: Hello, November | love.life.chocolate

Leave a Reply

