Confessions of a Pregnant Lady

Okay, so it’s officially week 39 of my pregnancy and that means I get to meet my little man soon. Of course, I have mixed feelings about this, as probably most mothers do. Yes, I’m extremely uncomfortable now and with every twinge of pain in my belly I wonder “is it time?” I’m excited and giddy and really want to meet my baby boy, but I’m gonna miss his little movements in my belly and sharing this time with him, just the two of us.

I confess, I haven’t loved pregnancy. In fact, I consider I had about 3 good months where I felt great and loved being pregnant. But the best part was making a new friend and sharing this entire process, both the ups and downs, as she and I were due 3 days apart. I’m so glad God planned for us to share this experience. Her miracle arrived last Thursday and I’m so happy for all of them. Anyway, let me recount the past nine months for you.

First trimester:

September 2, 2009 we had a positive home pregnancy test, soon confirmed by the doctor. Ahh, the awesome news that we’re pregnant. To say we were completely surprised is an understatement of mammoth proportions, yet we were thrilled!  This trimester can be characterized by lots and lots of crying (guess the hormones made me completely overemotional), nausea so bad I lost weight living on bagels and crackers and a twice daily dose of progesterone (bluck!) which I’m sure contributed to the nausea.

Second trimester:

This was the happiest of times. I had energy, got my appetite back and started feeling good and looking pregnant. I craved fried shrimp and chocolate (not together) and ate lots of both. I started putting mustard on my cheeseburgers and sandwiches, something I’ve never done before. I also developed a strange aversion to Mexican food.  I even felt good enough to get a full time job. That job only lasted about 2 months, but still, it was nice to go to work and feel useful and productive.

Third trimester:

This was the hardest three months of my life. It started out okay, and then I had my first gallbladder attack at 28 weeks. They defined the remainder of this pregnancy. I mentioned in a previous post that I had to drastically change my diet from the all out indulge-yourself-it’s-okay-you’re-pregnant diet to the low fat “bland and tasteless” diet as coined by my doctor. I would go to the hospital a total of 5 times for those infernal gallstones. We worried at one point that surgery would be required well before term, which could result in pre-term labor, so we started counting down the weeks and praying we’d make it another day.  Luckily my attacks were able to be brought under control with pain medication in the ER and no further complications during my hospital stays. The Lord prevailed and I’ve not been back to the hospital for gallstones since April 7.

The waiting:

Now I have a full-term baby in my belly and we’re ready to meet him any day. We thought we might just get that chance this weekend as I went to the hospital Saturday night and had some really good, 2-minutes-apart contractions, but it did squat to dilate my cervix so I was sent home. Now we just wait. I’m not so good at waiting, but for some reason, God always likes to make me wait for Him. I think He must get some kind of joy from it, not in a mean or maniacal way, mind you, but more like an “I’m God and I’m in control and you’re not and need to be reminded of that sometimes” kind of way. He’s a good God and I’m a veteran of waiting for him.

  • I waited when I was single and unemployed and moved to Houston in obedience knowing that He had a place all lined up for me to work.
  • I waited when I had all those tests to  determine that, yep, I in fact did have MS.
  • I waited for Him to bring the man in my life that He designed just for me.
  • And now I wait to experience the most incredible miracle of miracles: childbirth.  I wait to meet the next man in my life, the child He formed in my womb and had written on His heart from the very beginning of time. The child He so uniquely designed and planned for me to mother and Marcus to father and raise to be His own.

And so, again, I wait.  With what I’ll call eager anticipation, to see just how God is going to show up in the next few days. And to see what a masterpiece He’s created for the last nine months.  I’m so excited!

Psalm 139:

13 For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.

15 My frame was not hidden from you
when I was made in the secret place.
When I was woven together in the depths of the earth,

16 your eyes saw my unformed body.
All the days ordained for me
were written in your book
before one of them came to be.

This entry was posted in Health, life, Love, Pregnancy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Confessions of a Pregnant Lady

  1. Claire Selby says:

    It’s so exciting to know he will be here soon!

  2. kimmy8989 says:

    Congratulations for getting that far… Just hang on there and your baby will be there soon. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Eli’s Antics | love | life | chocolate

Leave a Reply

