Hungry for Junk!

Okay, so for those who don’t know it, I’ve been dealing with gallstones since February 20. Normally, when gallstones are discovered, surgery is performed to remove the gallbladder. That is, of course for folks NOT in their third trimester of pregnancy. Thus, I’ve still got my gallbladder and those lovely little stones and every once in a while, they like to act up.  The only thing I can do to help stave off an attack (which doesn’t always work, mind you) is avoid fatty foods. So I’ve been restricted to a low fat diet since February. Oh, and no chocolate, either. 😦

Like I said, just because you eat low fat and choose the right foods doesn’t mean the gallbladder will behave. To prove it, I’ve been to the hospital a grand total of five times in the last 2 months. Three of those resulted in hospital admissions for hydration, monitoring and antibiotic treatment. The last time I went we practically begged them to send me home. And they did. Thankfully.

Needless to say, I’ve had enough narcotics and antibiotics in my system that I don’t even mind taking Tylenol in spite of the baby. They sent me home with a script of Vicodin for crying out loud, so I know that Tylenol has to be just fine.  Anyway, since you now know why I’m on a low-fat diet, let me tell you about some of the foods I’ve missed and look forward to eating once again.

The most difficult thing is that my cravings are not gone, I just can’t indulge. Isn’t that half the fun of pregnancy? You get to eat what you want and no one bats an eye because you’re pregnant! Well, my indulgences of fried shrimp and Sonic cheeseburgers ended on February 20. (So did my weight gain, but that’s just a nice side effect I’m happy to live with.) Now I’m left with a dream of one day eating freely again.  For now, I’ve created this list of foods that I’ve craved and ridiculously look forward to eating once again. It’s in no particular order, and is by no means comprehensive, but here goes…

Pizza

I miss the ooey, gooey, cheesy goodness and the salty, spicy taste of sausage and pepperoni and layers of veggies that all melt in your mouth in happiness. For a girl who grew up on this stuff (my dad owned a pizza joint) I have missed my favorite indulgence. My first pizza will be from All Stars in Lake Jackson. I can’t wait!

Chick-Fil-A Combo #1

The classic southern style breaded and fried chicken sandwich with two pickles, mayo and waffle fries. Note that this is the ONLY form in which chicken exists on my list. I’ve had enough chicken I should be considered a Tyson shareholder.

Cheeseburgers and French Fries


Chili Cheese Dogs

With mustard and onions. This was served at a recent diaper shower thrown for me. I sat by with a bag of pretzels and drooled while everyone else indulged. Good times.


Chicken Korma from Cusine of India in Webster

To. Die. For. Yummy. Curry. Goodness.

Mexican Food

For the longest time, I didn’t want to touch it, see it, or smell it. Now I would die for some chips and queso, guacamole and cheese enchiladas and refried beans. Better yet, I’d settle for a Chipotle burrito with chips and guac. MMMMMM!!!

CHOCOLATE!!!!

I don’t care what form it takes, be it cake, pie, covering various fruits or in candy form, I MISS YOU, Chocolate!

Now I’m hungry. Guess I’ll go heat up some leftover ground turkey meatloaf. Yeah. Sounds so delicious doesn’t it? I can hardly contain myself.

This entry was posted in Chocolate, Food, Health, Pregnancy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hungry for Junk!

  1. Pingback: Confessions of a Pregnant Lady « love | life | chocolate

Leave a Reply

