Random Musings

Considering the fact that Thanksgiving is a couple of days away, you might think this is a post about all that I’m thankful for. But it’s not. Instead, this is a post of completely unrelated randomness. I could flood my facebook wall with these thoughts, but I decided to just throw it all into one stupid, weird post. So please forgive me, it’s just where my brain is right now.

I spend a lot of time in the kitchen. I cut and chop and measure and pour and boil and steam and bake. Every single day. I’ve got three sets of measuring cups and spoons in addition to my Pyrex glass measuring tools. And even then, sometimes it’s not enough. Because my brain has to work properly, too. The other day, I was measuring stuff into my food processor for a totally decadent healthy chocolate chip cookie dough dip and the recipe called for 1/8 tsp of baking soda. So I pulled out the 1/4 tsp and proceeded to measure out two of those and dump it in. Because 1/4 plus 1/4 equals 1/8 when you’re in a hurry. It’s okay, you can laugh at my expense.

I often listen to 24/7 Comedy on my iHeart Radio app when I’m at the gym. So I laugh out loud. A lot. The other day, my husband was there and he said every time I laughed, it kinda gave him a complex because he kept thinking I was laughing at him.  I bet he’s not the only one.  So if you see me in the gym with a big smile on my face or I’m absolutely guffawing, check my ears. If I’m wearing the ear buds, I’m not laughing at you. I’m probably laughing at Louis C.K. or Gabriel Iglesias.  If I’m not wearing the ear buds, well, draw your own conclusion.

I’m addicted to apple and peanut butter. Smucker’s natural peanut butter with Honeycrisp apples to be exact.

I think in the last two years, I’ve made no less than 2,347 peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. It’s their favorite.

My daughter is becoming a bully. She pushes kids that are littler than her just to watch them fall. If I weren’t slightly horrified, I might actually think it’s funny. Actually, I do kinda think it’s funny. No, I don’t. Yes, I do. That’s terrible.

My son has taken imaginary play to a whole new level. It’s getting really fun to watch. Plus it keeps him occupied which is kind of a bonus when I need to get stuff done.

I really want to see Mary Poppins again.

I have no desire to see Carrie Underwood in a live version of The Sound of Music. I mean seriously, why mess with a classic?  One year for my birthday, my whole family went to see The Sound of Music Sing a long at the Grand in Galveston. It was quite a fun experience.

I’m also addicted to watching episodes of Chopped on Amazon Prime.

We finally made it to Austin for our anniversary trip and had a great time and ate lots of yummy vegan food.  The best part, though, was my husband telling me that he likes my cooking better. Swoon. :) While the hotel was really nice, the bed was rock hard. So I didn’t sleep very well and we drank lots of coffee.

Speaking of cooking…this is officially our second plant-based Thanksgiving in a row. On the menu is a lot of really yummy goodness that I’m looking forward to making and then devouring.

My daughter is almost two. And she is acting like it already. She’s strong willed and stubborn and can rock a time out all in a cute tiny little pudgy package. And I feel like I’m starting all over again on the discipline. What worked for her brother doesn’t necessarily work for her. So we’re figuring this out together.

My son had his tonsils and adenoids removed this summer after a sleep study showed he had obstructive sleep apnea due to enlarged tonsils. In other words, he stopped breathing when he slept. Completely. Stopped. Breathing. Up to 37 times an hour. He also coughed a lot during his sleep before his surgery and the doctor’s said it was likely due to the tonsils being so big and surgery should solve the problem. But it didn’t. I felt so awful. Like I was a bad mom that couldn’t help my baby get a decent night’s sleep. And I put him through major surgery that didn’t help the cough. Although, it did help the snoring disappear, which also helped his apnea disappear, so it wasn’t for nothing.  Anyways, my husband was sharing this with his partner one day at work and she said the same thing happened to her nephew and it turned out that after a battery of tests, they discovered he had reflux that was causing the cough. So thinking this was a good possibility for my own kid, I called his pedi and he called out a script for liquid Zantac just to see if it would help. And I am amazed at the difference. Since the very first dose, he hasn’t coughed nearly like he had been. It’s crazy to me that just two weeks ago, he would start coughing the moment his head hit the pillow. And now, nothing. And when he does cough, it’s not the same hacking cough. I’m so excited that I think we finally figured it out.

That’s parenting though, isn’t it? A lot of on the job training. It’s good to have a plan in place and be intentional, but goodness, if you can’t think on your feet and call an audible, then you have no business being a parent. It’s by far the hardest job I’ve ever had. Some days I love it. Some days I don’t. And then snuggles come and erase a day of frustration. So I’ll take it. Struggles and all.

I love my babies. I adore my husband. They are my world.

And I think that’s it. My brain is purged. Well, almost. I can’t give all my secrets away. ;)

Time for an apple and pb snack with an episode of Chopped.

Have a Happy Thanksgiving, everybody!

WebSig

This entry was posted in Aubin, Complete Randomness, Eli, Family, life, Marcus, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random Musings

  1. I just tasted my first Honeycrisp apple – I never knew an apple could taste so good. I had mine with almond butter. :)

Leave a Reply

